Author Topic: First flat in 42 years  (Read 6415 times)

Offline erniee

• MSTA Member
  • Primary Motorcycle: MOTO GUZZI V85 Honor Guard
First flat in 42 years
« on: September 23, 2016, 05:09:01 PM »
Was on a short trip in WV well I picked up a self tapping sheet metal screw. Hole was a little rough. Used a stop&go plug kit to repair. Not real comfortable riding on a plugged tire, so I headed home. Traveled over 400 miles with not trouble. What is the opinion about running a plug?

Offline RIDEMYST

• Global Moderator
  • Lifetime Mileage: 538125
  • Primary Motorcycle: 2015 Super Tenere ES
Re: First flat in 42 years
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2016, 05:22:49 PM »
I wish I had your luck of 42 years!
Either me or my wife picks up a screw, nail, screwdriver shank.... every couple of years.
Yes, I plug the tire but then go to the closest bike shop for a tire replacement. It's the cost of riding on two wheels. :(
When I was a novice rider an experienced rider explained to me that the money I saved on a replacement tire would save me about 15 minutes of cost in the emergency room!
That hit home, so I replace the tire. -JEP-

Offline Patmo

• MSTA Member
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2016, 08:21:12 AM »
Your going to get A LOT of different opinions and reasoning on plugging v replacing a tire, and you will probably hear A LOT of people tell you stories about how they plugged a tire and rode/drove it for thousands of miles with no problem.

But, I'll give you my opinion and it's worth every penny you paid for it.....