Author Topic: State director profile - Denise Dickenson  (Read 1354 times)

VersysRider

State director profile - Denise Dickenson
« on: April 14, 2014, 07:54:22 PM »
Nicky Zarras | Managing Editor

This column is to honor the State Directors whose drive and personality improve the quality of life of their state’s MSTA members

Meet Oklahoma State Director Denise Dickenson

Nicky: What prompted you to join the MSTA and how long have you been a member?

Denise: I’ve been a member since 1998 after coming across the National STAR in Eufaula, Oklahoma. I had been riding my 1996 Nighthawk for about 2 years and my dealer mentioned there were demo rides going on down at the Lodge. A couple of friends and I rode down to see what was up. BMW and Honda was there but only BMW would let us do demo’s. Honda said we had to be a member of the group that was hosting the rally. I started talking with the folks at the rally and they sounded like it was a very good reason to travel to different parts of the country. I don’t remember the couple but I made the comment that I would be at next year’s rally whereever it was located. The other couple wouldn’t travel that far but I signed up later that year and showed up the next year in Taos, New Mexico and have only missed 1 STAR since that time. I was hooked on traveling by motorcycle and meeting new folks from around the country.

Nicky: Tell me about your first bike? What motorcycle do you ride to events now?

Denise: My first bike was a 1969 or so used Honda Trail 90 that my parents bought me for my 14th birthday. In Missouri you can’t ride legally at that age but since I lived on a 1000 acres I could ride anywhere on it plus there were miles of dirt roads that I could ride.