Author Topic: Member Profile: Alan and Debbie Smith  (Read 1349 times)

VersysRider

Member Profile: Alan and Debbie Smith
« on: September 12, 2014, 01:30:20 PM »

MSTA Members Alan and Debbie Smith

Hometown/State? Cincinnati, Ohio

What was your first motorcycle?
Debbie: My first motorcycle was a 1970 Honda CB175.
Alan: My first motorcycle was a 1964 Honda Sport 50.

Current motorcycle(s)?
Debbie: I own a 1993 Honda VFR750, 1997 Honda VFR750, 2003 Honda Super Blackbird and 2009 Triumph Street Triple R.
Alan: I own a 1999 BMW K1200LT, 2000 Honda VFR800, 2010 Honda ST1300, 2012 Triumph Tiger 800 and have ordered a 2014 BMW R1200RT.

What is your all-time favorite motorcycle?
Debbie: That would be my beloved 1983 BMW R80T.
Alan: I think the 2014 BMW S1000RR is gorgeous.

How long have you been riding?
Debbie: I’ve been riding motorcycles for 44 years.
Alan: I’ve been riding motorcycles for 48 years.

When did you join the MSTA?
Debbie: I joined the club in July, 2013.
Alan: I joined the club in March, 2013.

How did you hear about the MSTA? We were introduced to the MSTA by long time member, Tom Bartels.

Who or what was your biggest influence in motorcycling?
Debbie: I got excited about motorcycles during my teen years. A girlfriend’s brother had a blue and white Harley Davidson. My father recognized my growing interest in motorcycles and said, “No motorcycle for you, while you live under my roof.” So I moved out at 21 and bought my first bike. In later life, my inspiration was endurance rider, Fran Crane, a multiple Iron Butt Rally rider and finisher.
Alan: My inspiration was a kid I went to school with named Mike Partin. He raced on ice and dirt tracks and later snagged a factory ride with Harley-Davidson’s race team. More recently, my inspiration has been MSTA member Tom Bartels.

Where are your favorite places to ride?
Debbie: I really enjoy riding in North Carolina and Colorado. I’ll ride pretty much anywhere but Kansas.