Author Topic: State Director Profile - Doug McPeek  (Read 1176 times)

VersysRider

State Director Profile - Doug McPeek
« on: September 13, 2014, 06:14:10 PM »
Nick Zarras | Managing Editor

Ohio State Director, Doug "Coach" McPeek

This column is to honor the State Directors whose drive and personality improves the quality of life of their state MSTA members. In this issue, STAReview features Ohio State Director Doug McPeek.

Nick: What prompted you to join the MSTA and how long have you been a member?

Doug: I joined because many of my motorcycling friends were already members. Bryan Dunlap’s CMH-Moto email list was the means by which we all met. I started riding with the gang in 1995. By the time Dave Brickner gave me the ITR in 1998 I was ready to join.

Nick: Tell me about your first bike? What motorcycle do you ride to events now?

Doug: My first bike was a 1978 Honda Hawk Type II CB400T. In 1989 I drove past a house everyday and saw the Hawk on the porch with a for sale sign. It looked cool, and one day I stopped. It had only 1100 miles on it and looked brand new. I rode it for two years before deciding that it was just not a touring bike. I already knew that sport touring was my preference.

Currently I ride a BMW R1200GS and a Suzuki DR650SE, depending on the roads to be ridden. I like the upright seating and the versatility of each bike.

Nick: How long were you a member before you became a State Director and what prompted you to volunteer for the position?

Doug: I was a member 10 years before taking the volunteer position. I was moved to volunteer so that the previous State Director could pursue other interests after serving what had become a customary 5 years.

Nick: What were your goals for your state once you became a State Director?