Author Topic: Hairpins, Tunnels and Spandex - Riding the German and Austrian Alps  (Read 11722 times)

VersysRider

By Pedro Gregorio, Feature Editor

Ok, it’s word association time: Germany. Beer might be the first word that pops into your mind but if you’re a motorcycle or car nut, speed should be at the top of the list. Speed as in no speed limit, go as fast as you want, pedal to the metal, throttle to the stop speed. Ever since I started riding I’ve dreamed of experiencing the German autobahn in all of its speed-unlimited glory and riding the Alps. This summer I had the chance to do just that. My friend Brad was on a work assignment in Munich so I had a place to stay. He told me I could rent a BMW motorcycle at the Munich BMW dealer so a few emails and phone calls later and I had a R1200GS Adventure for three days and 1000 kilometers. I had hoped for something brutally fast like a K1300S but choices were limited due to my waiting until the last minute and the Adventure turned out to be an excellent choice.