Author Topic: Sweet Rides - 2011-2013 Honda CBR250R  (Read 2348 times)

VersysRider

Sweet Rides - 2011-2013 Honda CBR250R
« on: September 12, 2014, 05:55:42 PM »

By Will & Nikki England | Kansas

After years of riding big bikes (Concours ZG1000, ST1100, K1100LT, Ducati ST2), I’ve grown tired of the weight and unwieldy slow speed  handling. Recently married, with two broken bikes in the garage, my new bride convinced me to sell the Ducati, with over $3,000 in clutch work due, and the BMW K1100LT, with over $1,600 in rear main seal and clutch work due. Classic story – get married, sell the bikes. But she had ulterior motives. She’d been learning to ride on my Ducati, but was intimidated by the heavy clutch, snatchy throttle, top heavy weight and unobtanium plastics. I had been oogling the new for 2011 CBR250R single from Honda. With jewel-like paint, styling cloned from the VFR1200 and 60+ MPG economy, it looked amazing.

Keeping an eye on the local classifieds and dealers, we turned up a pristine 2011 CBR250R with 17 miles for sale at Donnell’s Motorcycles in Independence, MO. (http://www.donnellsmotorcycles.com/ ) Yes, 17 miles. At this point, the CBR250R was rare as hens’ teeth and finding a used one with that few miles was a fluke. A quick 40 mile drive across town and we were the proud new owner of a deep red CBR! I followed “proper” break-in procedures, rolling out of the dealership and right onto the interstate, running through redline in all 6 gears. It is a fantastic bike. It is quick off the line, handles like it is on rails, and weighs nothing. Only real drawback is limited passing power on the Interstate. With my 200 pound frame, it tops out at just under 80MPH.